Highlighting PDF documents on Ubuntu

Somehow I thought that Evince 2.22 (released beginning of April) would allow me to highlight stuff in my PDF’s, but it does not. And today, when I look at their features roadmap, the Annotations feature seems to have moved to version 2.24. So more waiting…

A few months ago, I’ve been searching like crazy to find a software that would allow me to highlight PDF’s. After hours of investigation and trying several options, it seems like there was only one single option that worked out of me: PDF-Xchange-Viewer, using the script here to circumvent a bug when opening the PDF files. The setup works fine since day 1.

PDF-Xchange-Viewer is not perfect, for instance I cannot undo changes (hence when I do wrong manip while highlighting, I need to quit, not save on quitting, and reload from the previous saved point), but I least I can highlight stuff in my PDF’s, a feature I really care about.

One comment

  1. Pretty amazing that something seemingly so simple can be such a huge issue. I need PDF highlight capabilities for reviewing academic papers…. :sigh: What a pain…

Got a comment?

