Write Access to an HFS+ Drive from Ubuntu

I wanted to have write access to my HFS+ external hard drive. It took me (frustrating) hours to find out, since I kept on having it mounted automagically (i.e. seconds after I inserted the USB plug in my labtop) as read-only. So I could read from it, but not write to it.

This post did the trick for me. In other words, I had to install the hfsprogs Ubuntu package and run:

fsck.hfsplus [block device]

So for me it was:

fsck.hfsplus /dev/sdc6
Nothing wrong was found after running that check, but it apparently needed to be run. Because right after, I unmounted it, and let it mount automagically, and it worked.
2 comments

  1. This is great, thanks for the pointer! I've been trying to figure out how to do this without disabling journaling on the HFS+ volume

  2. oof — I've been looking everywhere for just this! Thanks so much!

Got a comment?

