Ssh Credentials Not Forwarded When Using Capistrano on Mac OS X Snow Leopard

Capistrano Logo

I’m running Snow Leopard and it seems like a fresh Capistrano install did not forward my ssh credentials when I was deploying my Rails 3 app on a remote server, having my git repo on beanstalk (similar to the popular github).

After a lot of googling, I understood the problem and went on to fix it. For me, it was a matter of adding my private ssh key to my ssh-agent, like so:

ssh-add ~/.ssh/id_rsa

Then, when running:

ssh-add -L

I could finally see my public ssh key listed (before, no keys were shown). I re-fired a “cap deploy”, and it finally worked. With 3 hours of my life down the drain.

2 comments

  1. Thank you, you just saved 3 hours of MY life there 🙂

  2. Lucky you 🙂

Got a comment?

